2019 Winners

We are delighted to reveal the ultimate winners from each category. They were announced at a special awards ceremony in London on November 6th 2019.

In association with Frazer-Nash Consultancy

Energy & Environment

SCENe (Sustainable Community Energy Networks)
University of Nottingham, Smartklub; A.T. Kearney, Igloo Blueprint

Loughborough University, SlamJam, URBED, Solar Ready, Confers

Highly commended:

New engine efficiency technology makes gensets cleaner and greener
Bowman Power, Department of Energy and Climate Change, Innovate UK, Rolls-Royce Power Systems, Cummins, Lloyds Register and University College London

The Green Ammonia Demonstrator

Siemens, The Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC), Oxford University, The University of Cardiff, Innovate UK

Healthcare & Medical

Laparoscopic molecular probe for prostate cancer surgery
Lightpoint Medical, National Physical Laboratory

Information, Data & Connectivity

GeoSHM Project
BRDI (China Railway Major Bridge Reconnaissance & Design Institute Co. Ltd.), Leica Geosystems, GVL (Geomatic Ventures Limited), Amey, Transport Scotland.

Aerospace, Defence & Security

UK scientists generate electricity from rare element to power future space missions
National Nuclear Laboratory
University of Leicester, European Thermodynamics Ltd


Magnet Free Traction Motors for Commercial Vehicles: HDSRM
Advanced Electric Machines Limited
Tevva Motors, Newcastle University, Motor Design Limited

Manufacturing Technology

SHYMAN – sustainable hydrothermal manufacturing of nanomaterials
Promethean Particles
UVa, Institute of High Pressure, Warsaw, Czech Technical Univeristy, VLCI, University of Oxford, TopGaN, Solvay, Repsol, Pielaszek Research, PPG, GTVT s.r.o., Centro, Ricerche Fiat, Endor Nanotechnologies, Ceramisys

Young Innovator

Facial Recognition Door Entry System and Home Monitoring System for the Elderly
Freddie Howells
CETEC - Centre for Excellence in Technology Enhanced Care

Highly Commended:
Richard Crosse Racing 2018
WMG University of Warwick, The Small Schools Multi-Academy Trust, The Advanced Propulsion Centre